Sunday Salon: My favorite Irish books

ShamrockHappy Saint Patrick’s Day! I admit that I love this fun green holiday, despite the fact that I think St. Patrick could have left the snakes (i.e. pagans) of Ireland alone. I don’t agree with him, but I do like all things Irish, so to celebrate here are a couple of lists of Irish books.

10 recently read books by Irish authors that you should read too

1. Star of the Sea by Joseph O’Connor – This is probably my favorite book by an Irish author. It tells the story of people leaving Ireland and sailing for America in the mid-1800s. A heartbreaking, well-written and historically interesting story.
2. In the Woods and The Likeness by Tana French – Popular mystery series about detectives working in Dublin. Tana French has interesting storylines and characters.
3. P.S. I Love You by Cecilia Ahern – Sometimes one needs some good chicklit and this book has a great story and the Irish setting is a nice change.
4. Brooklyn by Colm Toibin – Another immigrant story, about how a girl who gets the opportunity to go to America and copes with the changes and loneliness.
5. Dracula by Bram Stoker – I didn’t know Bram Stoker was Irish until I read this! Definitely read this if you haven’t already, even if you think you already know the story of Dracula.
6. The Truth About the Leprechaun by Bob Curran – I loved the title so bought this on a whim in a giftshop somewhere in Ireland. Some interesting stuff about the legend of the leprechaun.
7. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne – A unique take on a difficult and painful subject.
8. Dubliners by James Joyce – I read this in high school and remember loving all the stories. Must re-read soon, would anyone be interested in a read-a-long?
9. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer – Lovely book about  a boy who captures a fairy and starts some trouble. I read this and one or two of the next books in the series but I want to re-read them and continue on to read them all.
10. Room by Emma Donoghue – I suppose everyone has at least heard of this one, but if you haven’t then don’t be scared when you read the synopsis. It’s not as gruesome as it seems it should be. The fact that it’s told from the point of view of a 5-year-old makes the tone different to anything you would expect.

6 Books by Irish authors that are sitting on my shelf, unread

1. The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry
2. Redemption Falls by Joseph O’Connor
3. Plugged by Eoin Colfer
4. How the Irish Saved Civilization by Thomas Cahill
5. Sushi for Beginners by Marian Keyes
6. In the Forest by Edna O’Brien

Anything else Irish that I should buy?

* photo credit

18 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: My favorite Irish books

  1. I really want to visit Ireland one day! It just looks so pretty on all the photo’s I’ve seen.

    I haven’t read the Boy in the Striped Pyjama, but damn that movie was heartbreaking. I had no idea it would end that way.

    Ps: I haven’t watched Centerstage. Is it good? Should I watch it?

    • Ireland is a beautiful country, definitely worth a trip!

      I refused to watch the movie, the book was heartbreaking enough!

      And yes, yes, yes, it’s a great movie! You obviously have to like dance movies, but if you do then definitely watch it!

  2. I didn’t know that about Bram Stroker either — a good little fact for my pocket 😀

    I can’t say that I know too many Irish authors (other than aforementioned James Joyce). Really should go out to read more of them.

    • Get Star of the Sea first, it’s very good. I’m into Ireland because my husband is Irish, not sure I’d know of so many Irish authors otherwise! Plus I love Dublin and want to live there at some point so really enjoy books that are set there.

  3. Oh I still have Star of the Sea to read for our challenge!
    I keep forgetting that Bram Stocker is Irish… that one’s on my list too.
    And Room…. well there are no words (actually there are some, but you see what I mean).

Leave a comment